Wednesday, 24 January 2018
Door now opened for gospel musicians – Joe Mettle

Door now opened for gospel musicians – Joe Mettle

GOSPEL musician Joe Mettle has declared the flood gates are now opened for gospel artistes to win the ‘Artiste of the Year’ title at Ghana Music Awards.
After successful breaking the long-awaited jinx that has seen no gospel artiste win the award since the inception of the awards in 2000, Joe Mettle believes that winning the award has opened the gate for others to win.

He made the declaration after beating E.L, Sarkodie, Stonebwoy, MzVee, and Medikal to claim the bragging rights as Ghana’s topmost artiste.
The ‘Onwanwani’ hit singer thus holds the bragging rights as the best artiste in Ghana for a year.
In his acceptance speech, Joe Mettle said, “This is for God Almighty, this is for gospel music, this is for Christian and for every gospel musician in this house, I just want to say that the door is open.”
Apart from the ‘Artiste of the Year’ award, he beat Ogya Mensah, Afriyie, Akwaboah, Sonnie Badu, and Ernest Opoku to win the ‘Best Male Vocalist’ of the Year award.
He had earlier picked up the ‘Gospel Artiste of the Year’ award.
As soon as he picked the Best Male Vocalist of the Year award, he told the packed audience at the Accra International Conference Centre (AICC) Sunday morning that he dedicates the award to the man who discovered him.
“I wish the man who discovered me… unfortunately, he is not here to witness this…the late Danny Nettey,” he said solemnly.
Below is the full list of award winners.
Artiste of the Year
Joe Mettle — WINNER
Reggae/Dancehall Artiste of the Year
Stonebwoy — WINNER
Ras Kuuku
Rudebwoy Ranking
Highlife Artiste of the Year
Bisa Kdei
Kofi Kinaata — WINNER
Gospel Artiste of the Year
Joe Mettle — WINNER
Piesie Esther
Sonnie Badu
Jeshrun Okyere
Hiplife Song of the Year
Guru – Samba feat. Singlet
Donzy – Club feat. Piesie and Sarkodie
Flowking Stone – Go Low — WINNER
Sarkodie – RNS
Criss Waddle – Bie Gya feat. Stonebwoy
Kofi Kinaata – Sweet Pie
VVIP – Alhaji feat. Patoranking
Afro-pop Song of the Year
E.L – Kaabu Ame — WINNER
Eugy – Dance For Me feat. Mr Eazi
Article Wan – Solo
Joey B – U x Me
Medikal – Too Risky feat. Sister Derby
Adina – Too Late
Vision DJ – Grind feat. A.I
Hip-hop Song of the Year
M.anifest – god MC — WINNER
Sarkodie – Trumpet feat. Tee Phlow, Koo Ntakra, Strongman, Pappy Kojo, Donzy, & Medikal
E.L – Lalafalama
Medikal – Confirm remix feat. Sarkodie
Edem – Egboame remix feat. Tee Phlow, Cabum, Gemini, Ayat, Mac M, Medikal, Darko, & Bebelino
Okyeame Kwame – Tension feat. Cabum, Medikal & Sister Derby
Best New Act
Nii Funny
Fancy Gadam — WINNER
Article Wan
Feli Nuna
Rudebwoy Ranking
Record of the year
Nacee – Me ne wo aa
Akwaboah – Hello feat. Sarkodie
Adina – Too late — WINNER
Joey B – U x Me
Trigmatic – Motromodwo feat. A.I
Best Female Vocalist
Adina – Too Late — WINNER
Becca – Beshiwo
MzVee – Nobody Else
Piesie Esther – Agye won nsam
Petrah – My Man
Best Male Vocalist
Ogya Mensah – Get Serious
Afriyie – Here to Stay
Joe Mettle – Onwanwani — WINNER
Akwaboah – Hello
Sonnie Badu – Still You Reign
Ernest Opoku – Yewo Nyame a yewo adze
Best Group of the Year
Best Music Video of the Year
Wiyaala – Leno
Okyeame Kwame – Small Small feat. MzVee — WINNER
Nacee – Yewo Nyame a yewo adze feat. Ernest Opoku
Flowking Stone – Rapping Drums
Manifest – W’ani aba feat. Bisa K’Dei
Edem – Nyedzilo feat. Rekaado Banks
Songwriter of the Year
Joe Mettle – Onwanwani
Kill Beatz – Too Late
Kofi Kinaata – Confession — WINNER
Nacee – Yewo Nyame a yewo adze
Hiplife/Hip pop artiste of the year
Flowking Stone
Sarkodie — Winner
Joey B
Best Rapper of the Year
Flowking Stone – Fire Bon Dem RMX
EL – Love God
Meidkal – Connect
Yaa Pono (Ponobiom) – Mind on Money
M.anifest – 100% — WINNER
Sarkodie – Fire Bon Dem RMX
Album of the Year
Counselor – Nacee — WINNER
Bar 3 – E.L
Nowhere Cool – M.anifest
Gifted – Flowking Stone
Sounds of Africa – Sonnie Badu
Unsung Artiste
Kwame Eugene — WINNER
Aj Lyricx
Afezi Perry
CJ Biggerman
Deon Boakye
Cina Soul
Highlife Song of the Year
Jwe – Bisa Kdei
Confession – Kofi Kinaata — WINNER
Beshiwo – Becca ft. Bisa Kdei
Mintse Bo – Wisa Greid
Christy – Dobble
Bokor Bokor – Kill Beatz ft. Mugeez and Fuse ODG
Gospel Song of the Year
Yewo Nyame a Yewo adze – Nacee ft. Ernest Opoku
Change Over – Mary Agyemang
Mewo Jesus – Mabel Okyere
Still You Reign – Sonnie Badu
Healing Stream – Jeshrun Okyere Ft. Nathaniel Bassey
Agye Won Nsam – Piesie Esther
Reggae/Dancehall Song of the Year
People Dey – Stonebwoy — WINNER
Nwansina – Ras Kuuku Ft. Luther
Gborgborvor – Gallaxy Ft. Stonebwoy
Kupe – Ebony
Yonnah – Samini ft. Luther
Pain Dem – Rudebwoy Ranking
Arostor – Kaakie Ft. Yaa Pono
African Artist of the year
Mr Eazi
Run Town — WINNER
Nathaniel Bassey

Read 321 times